Sonderbooks Book Reviews by Sondra Eklund

Sonderbooks Stand-out 2004
Buy from

Rate this Book

Sonderbooks 88
    Previous Book
    Next Book

Young Adult Fiction
        Previous Book
        Next Book
Children's Nonfiction
Children's Fiction

Picture Books

2004 Stand-outs
    Previous Book
    Next Book
2003 Stand-outs
2002 Stand-outs
2001 Stand-outs

Five-Star Books
    Previous Book
    Next Book

Four-Star Books
Old Favorites
    Previous Book
    Next Book

Back Issues
List of Reviews by Title
List of Reviews by Author

Why Read?
Children and Books
Links For Book Lovers

About Me
Contact Me 
Post on Bulletin Board

View Bulletin Board

I don't review books I don't like!

*****= An all-time favorite
****  = Outstanding
***    = Above average
**      = Enjoyable
*        = Good, with reservations


*****The Crown of Dalemark

Book Four of the Dalemark Quartet

by Diana Wynne Jones

Reviewed November 18, 2004.
Beech Tree Books, New York, 1996.  Originally published in Great Britain in 1993.  471 pages.
Available at Sembach Library (JF JON).
Sonderbooks Stand-out 2004, #5, Young Adult and Children's Fantasy Old Favorites

I’ve been reading The Dalemark Quartet to my ten-year-old son at bedtime, and he agrees with me that this last book is the best of them all.  I like the way she has composed this series.  The first book is about Moril the Singer, trying to get to the North of Dalemark.  The second book is about Mitt, who is a revolutionary in the South.  The third book goes back to prehistoric Dalemark, telling the tale of the Spellcoats and an ancient evil, Kankredin.  The fourth book ties all of them together, bringing in characters and themes from all three of the other books.

Besides old friends from the earlier books, The Crown of Dalemark introduces Maewen, a thirteen-year-old girl of modern Dalemark.  She’s sent back in time, to a time just before a new king takes over the many earldoms and unites Dalemark.  She looks just like Noreth Onesdaughter, who is planning to ride the Royal Road as she turns eighteen and announce herself Queen.  Noreth has disappeared, and Maewen has been sent to ride the Royal Road in her place and get the Ring, the Cup, the Sword, and the Crown.  Maewen figures she will hand them over to the king she knows is coming.

Along the way, Maewen sees evidence that Kankredin is back and is interested in her.  And who is the new king really supposed to be?

Here’s a wonderfully woven conclusion to an outstanding fantasy series.  People will enjoy this from about ten years old all the way up to adults.  This is good family reading for those who enjoy fantasy stories.

Reviews of other books by Diana Wynne Jones:

Book One in the Dalemark Quartet: Cart and Cwidder
Book Two in the Dalemark Quartet: Drowned Ammet
Book Three in the Dalemark Quartet:  The Spellcoats
Dark Lord of Derkholm and Year of the Griffin
Conrad's Fate
Unexpected Magic
The Merlin Conspiracy
Wild Robert
The Ogre Downstairs
Witch's Business

Copyright © 2005 Sondra Eklund.  All rights reserved.

-top of page-